Logo by mauxuam - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Support us via Flattr FLATTR Link

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. March 28, 2024, 07:31:58 PM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: mandelbulb textures?  (Read 6189 times)
Description: is it possible to change them?
paragon5
Forums Freshman

« on: May 07, 2011, 05:46:19 AM »

Is it possible to change the texture files for Mandelbulb 3D?  I'm new to Mandelbulb and this was something I really liked about Incendia, was the ability to import my own texture files. Just curious, not complaining.  So far, I really like Mandelbulb, the learning curve isn't as bad as I thought it would be.  Still a long way to go to catch up to you guys.
Sockratease
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior

« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2011, 12:23:21 PM »

The textures in M3D are non existent, so no.  Not possible.

"Textures" are done with lighting, and you can change that all you like, but in the absence of an actual mesh, texturing like in traditional 3D software is not possible  (Inendia actually creates a mesh for exporting 3D object files and that's how texturing works in that software).

We'll just call this another voice in the 3D Object Export feature request choir   the wave  (knowing full well that a mandelbulb obj file would be HUGE  -  even a full GB for one file - but we'd still use it to death anyhow!)

Or maybe bringing back Bitmap Lighting?   jabbering