END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Follow us on Twitter

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. April 16, 2024, 04:00:27 PM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: Generating RGB values from mu  (Read 6891 times)
blastoff
« on: August 14, 2012, 08:44:14 AM »

Hi, first post  smiley

I'm new to this, so please direct me to the right place if this isn't a question for this part of the forum.
(By new to this I mean the last fractal program I wrote was in 1988 on a 286 which had a 4 colour monitor -- 3 of the colours were shades of orange. So, I'm a little rusty)

I'm keen to use smooth coloring (which I haven't done before) for the Mandelbrot set, and many sites mention:
mu = N + 1 - log (log  |Z(N)|) / log 2

My question is though...
What do I do with mu to generate RGB colours (that is, each channel) for each pixel?
(I have to use RGB - can't use HSV for this project)

I'd prefer not to use a table of values. I've tried that and it's limited by the number of iterations.
In my program the maximum number of iterations is increased automatially depending on the zoom level - so a fixed table of values isnt practical, for long any way.

One thing I've tried (with mixed results) is to use a formula for each RGB value. For example:
r = (sin(0.1*mu) +1)*127
with different values (or cos) for the other channels.

I'm hoping someone has other suggestions.
Thanks.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2012, 08:50:53 AM by blastoff » Logged
cKleinhuis