Logo by dainbramage - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Visit the official fractalforums.com Youtube Channel

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. April 27, 2024, 02:50:41 PM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: Complete beginner - how to start?  (Read 1197 times)
Twoheadstalking
« on: December 05, 2010, 09:24:15 PM »

I hope this is the right place to post, if not please forgive me. I've looked arounds these boards a bit and also the web but am at a complete loss as to where to start with creating fractals. I am interested in making 2 and 3D stills and videos (eg like the ones put out by teamfresh). I have plenty of background maths knowledge (undergrad level in dynamical systems and the like, phd and postdoc in numerical anaylsis) so that won't be a problem I hope.

Can anyone point me in the direction of some good, free (unfortunately no money to spend at the moment) software that can get me started? I think getting my feet dirty will be the best way to learn for such a venture.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Madman
Fractal Molossus

« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2010, 09:53:59 PM »

Hi twoheadstalking,