Logo by DsyneGrafix - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Check out the originating "3d Mandelbulb" thread here

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. April 18, 2024, 08:28:06 PM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: Inverse Fractals  (Read 7845 times)
Description: Description and examples of inverse fractals
cye
Forums Freshman

« on: November 09, 2016, 10:47:43 PM »

Hi,

I'm new to fractals and to this board, though not new to complex mathematics and programming. One quickly gets the impression that everything has been done already! So, in seeking to do something different, I set out to test the idea of 'inverse' fractals (not to be confused with 'inverse iteration'). By inverse fractal I mean that if a fractal is defined by some f(z0), then the inverse is given by f(1/z0). I've seen some examples of this for the Mandelbrot fractal. I've developed a number of inverse fractals and created animations that can be found at Pinterest (Fractals Animated) (https://www.pinterest.com/cyewaldman/animated-fractals/). These include the phoenix fractal (whose inverse I call the scorpion fractal), as well as the self-squared dragon, the Glynn- Julia, and various trigonometric Julia sets, including sin(), cos(), csc(), csc()*csch(), csc()/csch(). All of these have the argument z^n. These have animations for various values of n. The others have animated zooms on specific regions.