Logo by AGUS - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Follow us on Twitter

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. April 20, 2024, 05:29:23 AM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: Smooth Shaded plugin  (Read 3330 times)
Description: for zoom movies?
kallisti
Explorer

« on: August 24, 2013, 03:49:19 AM »

Disclaimer: I am not a programmer or mathematician, so please excuse any apparent stupidity in the following.

Greetings. I am enjoying the Smooth Shaded and Partial/scallopped Iteration plugins a lot. They bring a new and more organic feel to classic 2d fractal motifs. IIRC, the effect is achieved by fooling FX into thinking there's 256 extra iteration bands between each "real" one.

This is well and good when adjusting still images, but causes problems when attempting to create zoom movies. It seems that the extra iteration bands "stretch" the color parameters in such a way as to never achieve "equilibrium", a state where color distribution appears similar in both shallow and deep zooms. I've found that the plug-in can be used with OK results for about 200 zooms. More than that, and I need to choose which part of the zoom movie I wish to fall within the "good" limits.