Logo by Mahmut - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Support us via Flattr FLATTR Link

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. March 29, 2024, 04:54:59 PM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: Using others' parameters??  (Read 4254 times)
juliaseth
Forums Newbie

« on: July 09, 2013, 06:06:34 PM »

Hello, newbie here.  I just wanted to know what the general guidelines are when it comes to using others' parameters (Mandelbulb) to find your own fractals.  I have seen other people do this and then post the resulting fractals as though they were their own.  Can someone shed some more light on this...thanks in advance.
Sockratease
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior

« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2013, 08:06:06 PM »

Hello, newbie here.  I just wanted to know what the general guidelines are when it comes to using others' parameters (Mandelbulb) to find your own fractals.  I have seen other people do this and then post the resulting fractals as though they were their own.  Can someone shed some more light on this...thanks in advance.

Hello and welcome to the forums   afro

Using other's parameters as a guide or starting point is fine.  That's why Jesse encloses example parameters!

It's nice to credit the original source, but at what point does changing things alter the original enough to claim it as your own find?  That's a complicated question   alien