Logo by Jimpan1973 - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Support us via Flattr FLATTR Link

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. April 20, 2024, 10:52:53 AM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: About powN1 and powN2 in the default Mandelbulb DE  (Read 2627 times)
Feline
Alien

« on: July 29, 2012, 02:36:27 AM »

Very brief intro by way of a caveat: I'm a physicist, not a mathematician. I understand and appreciate the mathematical exposition on syntopia's blog, but I tinker with all this to make pretty pictures; and as long as a DE does that for me, I couldn't care less whether it is entirely mathematically sound. I am beholden to mathematical correctness in my work life; in my free time I want to be allowed to play around. I've been collecting (and wanted to post somewhere for a while) a variety of notes on Fragmentarium, and just to finally kick that off, this post.

Having said that, here's what I can discern about the two power functions in the default Mandelbulb distance estimator in Fragmentarium.

The shader will use the one or the other, depending on the state of the "AlternateVersion" checkbox. Fire it up, select the Mandelbulb Tab and toggle it on or off a couple times to remind yourself how they're different.

Next, click the little arrow that allows you to change the value of the "Power" slider by one, such that power=9.000  then toggle the "AlternateVersion" checkbox again.

Surprised?