Logo by kr0mat1k - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Support us via Flattr FLATTR Link

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. March 19, 2024, 06:24:59 AM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 37   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: True 3D mandelbrot type fractal  (Read 601578 times)
twinbee
Fractal Fertilizer

« on: September 22, 2007, 11:05:02 AM »

Hi all!
I'm relatively new to fractals, but I have searched for hours to find a true 3D mandlebrot type fractal, all in vain. I don't want the raised mountain type of mandlebrot, and I don't want any true (but trivially simple) ones such as the Menger sponge. I instead want a true 3D equivalent of the mandlebrot (or near enough).

The closest I got was the Quasi-fuchsian sphere fractal:
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/3lcO9zRCv-4&rel=1&fs=1&hd=1" target="_blank">http://www.youtube.com/v/3lcO9zRCv-4&rel=1&fs=1&hd=1</a>

However, that is still mostly self-similar. I want the amazing variety that can be found in the mandlebrot. Anything out there?
« Last Edit: October 19, 2009, 10:26:23 AM by Trifox » Logged
lycium
Fractal Supremo

« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2007, 11:11:31 AM »

heya, welcome to the forums. curiously i was just watching arthur clarke describing the mandelbrot set in "fractals - the colors of infinity" wink