Logo by kr0mat1k - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Check out the originating "3d Mandelbulb" thread here

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. April 28, 2024, 06:08:38 AM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: Hi, I'm Duncan C  (Read 2903 times)
Duncan C
Fractal Fanatic

« on: February 02, 2007, 05:22:40 PM »

Hello all.

I just stumbled upon your forum.

My name's Duncan C. Im a software consultant/developer by profession, and a math/science enthusiast. I've been interested in Fractals since the mid 80's. I did wrote an application for rendering of Mandelbrot and Julia sets on a 16 mhz Mac II computer with an early FPU. In those days it would take over half an hour to do ONE plot at 255 iterations, and generating animated sequences took OVERNIGHT.

I've recently started development on a new version of my program, which I'm calling FractalWorks. My interests are as much in the aesthetics and computer science as they are in the pure mathematics of fractals. The more arcane mathematical concepts behind fractals are a little beyond my understanding.

I have a copy of "The Beauty of Fractals," which is a wonderful introduction to the subject, but I get a bit lost in the deeper mathematical discussions. I could use some coaching. (I've only had one year of calculus, and that a long time ago, so I'm a little under-educated for some of this stuff.)