Logo by Dinkydau - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Support us via Flattr FLATTR Link
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. August 23, 2019, 12:12:26 PM


Login with username, password and session length


The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!


Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 9   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: Mandelbulber v2 - 2.08  (Read 8112 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
mclarekin
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1739



« Reply #60 on: July 24, 2016, 02:41:26 AM »

Noise, mixing linear type DE formulas with logarithmic is difficult

quick look at Noise

1) ray marching step multiplier of 1 is too high for these, often you are down to 0.1

2) Detail Level of 2 is too high for these hybrids

3) Look at percentage wrong DE calculations in statistic UI, generally  you want 0.01 or smaller.

4) As the mbox is the main hybrid fractal in your example,  you should probably use  Force Delta DE Linear

I am not 100% sure about the switching between hybrids in Mac OS.  Could you give us a step by step desrctption of what is happening, I know that  when using the arrows the status of the fractal enanble/ disable checkbox does not move with the rest of the formula.

Thanks for the feedback, this helps a lot.  A  detailed explanation  to users on how to use DE settings is needed.
Logged
Starmute
Navigator
*****
Posts: 74


« Reply #61 on: July 24, 2016, 03:21:10 AM »

Thank you mclarekin.
About the switching between hybrids: whenever you click on a hybrid except number 1, it becomes semi darkened, but not actually selected. The fractal listed does not actually change. To actually change it you must move it back to number 1.
Also - to actually see the end of each slider for fractals, you must stretch that side of the window to huge size because of the fact that there are 9 hybrids.
Logged
Starmute
Navigator
*****
Posts: 74


« Reply #62 on: July 24, 2016, 03:29:12 AM »

One more thing, there is a lot of lag before rendering when using a textured background, like this one.
http://i.imgur.com/nVS9jVJ.jpg
Probably at least one second delay after clicking in the fractal or pressing 'render'.
Logged
mclarekin
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1739



« Reply #63 on: July 24, 2016, 03:47:32 AM »

@ starmute have you got Enable hybrid fractal "ticked" on the hybrid tab?
Logged
Starmute
Navigator
*****
Posts: 74


« Reply #64 on: July 24, 2016, 03:59:14 AM »

@ starmute have you got Enable hybrid fractal "ticked" on the hybrid tab?
The problems happen regardless.
Logged
mclarekin
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1739



« Reply #65 on: July 24, 2016, 04:12:38 AM »

Maybe supply a screenshot and example setting file, we may need the real programmers to look at this?

I don't have any problems in Ubuntu, next time I am in Windows V2.08 i will double check that it is working there. It may be Mac OS only.

BTW, We are considering having enable checkBoxes on the main Fractal UI for enabling Hybrid and Boolean modes.  Another possibility would be if more than one fractal slot is ticked , then the  program would default to Hybrid Mode. What do you think?

Logged
mclarekin
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1739



« Reply #66 on: July 24, 2016, 04:23:13 AM »

The nine fractals issue is annoying. I think one solution is to make the names shorter, definitely "Transform"  should be shortened, and the use of Mbox and Mbulb would help, I have  added this feedback  to the list of issues to look at.
Logged
Starmute
Navigator
*****
Posts: 74


« Reply #67 on: July 24, 2016, 04:35:03 AM »

Here is a screenshot of the issue, in that example I just clicked on #2 but it stays on #1.
I have to stretch it about that far in order to see the entire slider.


* Screen Shot 2016-07-23 at 10.32.29 PM.png (160.15 KB, 1481x579 - viewed 50 times.)
Logged
mclarekin
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1739



« Reply #68 on: July 24, 2016, 04:46:59 AM »

looks weird, I cannot see any checkboxes for ticking enabling the formula slot?

My screenshot is Ubuntu OS


* scrnshot6.jpg (79.98 KB, 1134x363 - viewed 41 times.)
Logged
Starmute
Navigator
*****
Posts: 74


« Reply #69 on: July 24, 2016, 04:49:17 AM »

looks weird, I cannot see any checkboxes for ticking enabling the formula slot?

My screenshot is Ubuntu OS
Oh, that is of 2.07, sorry. I have both open right now and accidentally picked 2.07. But other than that the problem is the same. smiley
Logged
mclarekin
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1739



« Reply #70 on: July 24, 2016, 05:02:26 AM »

OK we have to wait until  the  Europeans wake up, we need the experts.
Logged
zebastian
Conqueror
*******
Posts: 121



« Reply #71 on: July 24, 2016, 12:23:15 PM »

Hi guys,

thats an OSX UI bug, the tab-bar with the fractal names at the top should be scrollable like in linux or windows. OSX does not get it right and wants to show all tabs at once, this causes the whole window to be ridiculously wide. i dont know where the checkboxes go smiley
This will require some rework...
Logged
Starmute
Navigator
*****
Posts: 74


« Reply #72 on: July 24, 2016, 09:10:06 PM »

One more thing, there is a lot of lag before rendering when using a textured background, like this one.
http://i.imgur.com/nVS9jVJ.jpg
Probably at least one second delay after clicking in the fractal or pressing 'render'.

Do you know what is going on here, with the textured background lag? It happens even when none of the background is in view.
Logged
Buddhi
Fractal Iambus
***
Posts: 895



WWW
« Reply #73 on: July 24, 2016, 09:25:16 PM »

Do you know what is going on here, with the textured background lag? It happens even when none of the background is in view.

I have no idea where could be the problem. I have just tested it (with your texture) under Linux, Windows Vista and Windows 10. There is no lag. Maybe this problem exists under OSX. Bermarte needs to check it.
By the way, background texture is loaded from disk every time when you click render button, so it can take some time on slower machines.
Logged

Starmute
Navigator
*****
Posts: 74


« Reply #74 on: July 24, 2016, 09:29:35 PM »

I have no idea where could be the problem. I have just tested it (with your texture) under Linux, Windows Vista and Windows 10. There is no lag. Maybe this problem exists under OSX. Bermarte needs to check it.
By the way, background texture is loaded from disk every time when you click render button, so it can take some time on slower machines.
Thank you buddhi. Another bug:
Materials do not form a grid on mac, they are all in a line, so you have to scroll all the way to the right. Attached image shows the problem.

And is it possible to smoothly interpolate materials in 2.08 (keyframe animation), without all of the hassle of changing each individual property?


* Screen Shot 2016-07-24 at 3.28.00 PM.png (63.72 KB, 567x215 - viewed 41 times.)
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 9   Go Down
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
Mandelbulber 0.85 Mandelbulber Buddhi 6 2475 Last post July 25, 2010, 10:00:13 PM
by kram1032
Mandelbulber 0.93 Mandelbulber Buddhi 12 4093 Last post October 17, 2010, 03:19:15 PM
by Buddhi
mandelbulber Help & Support ramblerette 1 578 Last post October 18, 2010, 02:56:02 PM
by ramblerette
Mandelbulber 0.94 Mandelbulber « 1 2 » Buddhi 15 4841 Last post October 24, 2010, 09:36:01 AM
by Buddhi
Mandelbulber 1.12 Releases Buddhi 13 4422 Last post June 23, 2012, 08:44:32 PM
by visual.bermarte

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.471 seconds with 30 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.014s, 2q)