News: Visit the official fractalforums.com Youtube Channel
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. October 22, 2014, 06:44:43 AM


Login with username, password and session length



Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: There's still something funny going on  (Read 788 times)
Description: not producing what's expected
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
kameelian
Iterator
*
Posts: 181



« on: May 02, 2011, 02:33:59 PM »

Hi again guys,
 
Further to my recent queries about the rendered image not being as expected,
and maybe there was some 'user error', but having had a bit more time to get
my head around it and do a lot more, I can still get unexpected results.
 
For instance, I have learned that, generally, I can simply load up an anim file
and then Calculate 3D to get a still shot from it. Then I can change it and send
it back to the anim if I wish etc. However, sometimes it is as if the param buffer is
not cleared and when I press Calculate 3D, a completely different image (even
to what is currently in the main program window!) is generated - like a variant on
the default 'blob' and if I 'Insert Parameter to Keyframe' (or even get param from
navi window) I still do not get what is in the main window but something odd like
perhaps from the clipboard. I've even had it put in the previous frame in an anim
series but not the one showing in the main window. SO I go past by another frame
and still don't get the one I want. Most Odd.
 
It's like a joke; now I have learned how to reduce the graininess on my 'mothership'
pic (in gallery) I can't get it back. I want frame 50 but it produces anything but(!)
The rest of the anim is just messy junk; a result of dabbling with parameters.
 
Maybe I didn't explain it well before but now I have had some time to play
around, this is not what usually happens and it's baffling me - and eating up valuable
creation time (or going out) (for 4 hours today Ive been produing tiny anims just to get
to the right place before increasing the size) but nothing works - unless perhaps a full
size render from the start? My brain literally hurts and I'm making all kinds of errors now.
Anway, if you view the attached anim file, if anyone can throw any light on the matter
i,e, why the shown image 50 will not render properly, it will be appreciated.

thanks again
Kam
 

* mothership that goes wrong.zip (76.05 KB - downloaded 39 times.)
« Last Edit: May 02, 2011, 02:39:55 PM by kameelian, Reason: oops, that wasn\'t the anim file » Logged

Mandelbulb3D - Like Christmas Every morning wink
Sockratease
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 2269



« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2011, 10:33:10 PM »

Hi again guys,
 
Further to my recent queries about the rendered image not being as expected,
and maybe there was some 'user error', but having had a bit more time to get
my head around it and do a lot more, I can still get unexpected results.
 
For instance, I have learned that, generally, I can simply load up an anim file
and then Calculate 3D to get a still shot from it. Then I can change it and send
it back to the anim if I wish etc. However, sometimes it is as if the param buffer is
not cleared and when I press Calculate 3D, a completely different image (even
to what is currently in the main program window!) is generated - like a variant on
the default 'blob' and if I 'Insert Parameter to Keyframe' (or even get param from
navi window) I still do not get what is in the main window but something odd like
perhaps from the clipboard. I've even had it put in the previous frame in an anim
series but not the one showing in the main window. SO I go past by another frame
and still don't get the one I want. Most Odd.
 
It's like a joke; now I have learned how to reduce the graininess on my 'mothership'
pic (in gallery) I can't get it back. I want frame 50 but it produces anything but(!)
The rest of the anim is just messy junk; a result of dabbling with parameters.
 
Maybe I didn't explain it well before but now I have had some time to play
around, this is not what usually happens and it's baffling me - and eating up valuable
creation time (or going out) (for 4 hours today Ive been produing tiny anims just to get
to the right place before increasing the size) but nothing works - unless perhaps a full
size render from the start? My brain literally hurts and I'm making all kinds of errors now.
Anway, if you view the attached anim file, if anyone can throw any light on the matter
i,e, why the shown image 50 will not render properly, it will be appreciated.

thanks again
Kam
 

What you NEED to do is find a specific set of steps you can list - IN DETAIL - that Reproducibly create these errors.

Maybe get a screen capture program and show us a video of it happening.

Without a real world example, it's impossible to help you.

Nobody else has reported this, but that does not mean you are mistaken.

Please try to document this properly so we can help.



EDIT - I just tried your m3a file.

Every keyframe renders like it's thumbnail.

I don't see any problems there.

Could it be hardware issues?  Can you test it on any other computer?
« Last Edit: May 02, 2011, 11:32:00 PM by Sockratease » Logged

Life is complex - It has real and imaginary components.
cKleinhuis
Administrator
Fractal Senior
*******
Posts: 5655


formerly known as 'Trifox'


WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2011, 11:35:57 PM »

what is this ? mandelbulb3d or mandelbulber discussion ?
-> WRONG PLACE!
Logged

---

divide and conquer - iterate and rule - chaos is No random!
Sockratease
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 2269



« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2011, 12:39:17 AM »

what is this ? mandelbulb3d or mandelbulber discussion ?
-> WRONG PLACE!

Blimey!

Didn't notice which section this was in - using the recent posts page...

Moving it now. 
Logged

Life is complex - It has real and imaginary components.
cKleinhuis
Administrator
Fractal Senior
*******
Posts: 5655


formerly known as 'Trifox'


WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2011, 11:16:49 AM »

kk, thank you, i just went to this thread suggesting something was going on with uploading problems ... and it was a relief it just was about mandelbulb3d cheesy ->jesse
Logged

---

divide and conquer - iterate and rule - chaos is No random!
kameelian
Iterator
*
Posts: 181



« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2011, 11:27:10 AM »

Hi again Sockratease,

Thanks for your reply.

Sorry once again for posting in the wrong forum. That's how frazzled I was yesterday.

I note your comment that no one else has reported this. But I am not making it up - whatever picture was expected was not being rendered.
Maybe it takes a newby's efforts to get an unexpected way of getting into a mess.

As it only happened with one particular project (of the many that I have fiddled with), I just knew there was something not quite right.
Maybe it was just a hardware/software glitch? Or it could be my lack of knowledge - like I had assumed that a full m3i file contained everything
- the parameter and anim files, but this does not seem to be the case.

I understand your suggestion about sending a screen capture video. I guess this would prove what I'm saying but, at present, it feels like I have
already spent many more hours on this issue than I care to admit (all for one picture) and I don't want to take up any more of your time on this
particular subject. (if I get some time in future and am still replicating this issue, I will organise a screen capture).

I'll just get on with other stuff for now.

The program will remain both brilliant and frustrating.

Thanks for your time.

regards
Kam
Logged

Mandelbulb3D - Like Christmas Every morning wink
Jesse
Download Section
Fractal Schemer
*
Posts: 1018


« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2011, 10:18:37 PM »

It is the difference of what you think the program should do, and the way the program does  wink

But this is just a learning process and also one reason why i programmed my own software.

The m3i file does not contain animation params, that i could have told you.  Such single, precise questions are easy to answer, if you have more like that we could help  smiley
But just moaning is also ok, there are so many positive feedbacks, some frustrations are just to keep the ying-yang thing in balance or so.  A Beer Cup
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
[Funny Math Art] Guess what's inside? (answers included) Non-Fractal related Chit-Chat benice 3 2062 Last post July 16, 2011, 12:40:19 AM
by benice
Not fractal but funny; general torus knots DE routine New Theories & Research « 1 2 3 4 » DarkBeam 55 2860 Last post January 27, 2012, 03:24:44 PM
by Alef
Funny Math Pictures in Ancient Art Style Fractal Humor benice 5 1457 Last post October 29, 2012, 02:32:17 AM
by sinpix

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.297 seconds with 29 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.012s, 2q)