Logo by Tglad - Contribute your own Logo!
News: Visit the official fractalforums.com Youtube Channel
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. October 21, 2014, 12:48:33 AM


Login with username, password and session length



Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: run Almost any fractal program on mac !  (Read 5679 times)
Description: how to run any windows fractal program on mac
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
slock
Alien
***
Posts: 25


« on: January 21, 2012, 02:16:22 PM »

I everyone,
Last weeks I didn't had much time to work on mandelbulb 3D for mac, BUT since I don't think I'll have enough time for quite a long, I decided to share with you my testing program, it's basically a wrapper based on wine which can launch windows apps directly from Mac OS X, without bootcamp or any virtualization solution (eg VMWare, ...)
here is the link : https://rapidshare.com/files/3353493393/windows.app.zip
to install it, just unzip it, run it once and then right click on a windows executable (.exe file), read informations --> open with (select my program in the dropdown menu, you may have to manually point "windows.app" if it doesn't shows ) and finally click the button right under the dropdown menu.
now, just double click on any .exe file to run it. The method also works for .bat and .lnk (shortcuts) files

It works at least with ultra fractal 5 and mandelbulb 3d
Here you are wink

EDIT !
The new wrapper is here !
here is the link : http://www.mediafire.com/?25hx62lyywn18
« Last Edit: September 06, 2012, 04:20:21 PM by slock » Logged
slock
Alien
***
Posts: 25


« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2012, 05:20:38 PM »

Ok, thank you smiley
if you need help to run a specific windows program on mac, just ask, I'll see what I can do
Unfortunatly I can't send the wrapper directly to the forum, the file is way to big (357 mo compressed, and it's the smallest I can do :/ )
Logged
THEMAN1138
Guest
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2012, 03:12:48 AM »

please upload on a dif site, the website says you cant download it anymore
Logged
slock
Alien
***
Posts: 25


« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2012, 12:59:08 PM »

hi,
yes, I know about the recent problem with almost every filehost, I'll reupload it later on a different host, maybe filebay ? or maybe Rapidshare ? I don't know yet
Logged
taurus
Fractal Schemer
****
Posts: 999



profile.php?id=1339106810
WWW
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2012, 02:03:16 PM »

hi,
yes, I know about the recent problem with almost every filehost ...

obviously the panic after the megaupload close-down! hurt
Logged

when life offers you a lemon, get yourself some salt and tequila!
slock
Alien
***
Posts: 25


« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2012, 11:34:40 AM »

ok, link updated, this should work now
Logged
scheven_architect
Alien
***
Posts: 25


« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2012, 11:49:22 AM »

This doesn't seem to work. I can't even make it the standard program to open the .exe sad

update: making it standard program does work but if i double click, windows multi launcher opens but mandelbulb doesn't

i have mac 10,6,8
« Last Edit: February 03, 2012, 11:57:31 AM by scheven_architect » Logged
slock
Alien
***
Posts: 25


« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2012, 03:49:43 PM »

hello !
this isn't normal, it should work
for now, just try to open windows multi launcher by double clicking on its icon, a windows explorer windows should pop up, then naviguate to mandelbulb (your mac hard drive is listed as z:/ in the windows explorer) and launch it from there, there is no reasons (I launched the last version of mandelbulb with it yesterday and ran a big render, it worked fine)
Logged
scheven_architect
Alien
***
Posts: 25


« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2012, 11:26:36 AM »

I just open windows multi launcher but nothing else pop ups and from within this 'program' i can't open anything :s
Logged
luc2
Forums Freshman
**
Posts: 12



« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2012, 05:52:07 PM »

First thanks a lot, slock, for the "window.app".

For me it work perfectly, nearly all softwares I tried open and run OK, I also give the link to some friends and they also have success with it.

I struggle with Parallels Desktop for years, personally I never like this software to much bugs and no support. Your solution is not perfect in all case but it'll help me to limit the use of window virtuallization to the rare occasions were your software don't work...

I get a funny bug with one of the fractal software I use time to time call; FlightFromFractal the software was create by a japanese artist, in window xp, 2000 and 95 it open normally and all the menus are in english but with your software many of the menus are unreadable it probably try to load the Japanese charset without success. I try to find how to make it open in English but for now no luck  smiley If you are curious about it here is the link for the software;
 
http://www.nahee.com/Software/FlightFromFractal.zip   
Logged

Excuse my English, it's not my natural language.
slock
Alien
***
Posts: 25


« Reply #10 on: March 26, 2012, 06:45:32 PM »

Hi,
I've looked the application and I think I've located the problem : In fact, wine lacks a few fonts from windows (legal issues) but this application tries to use a missing one, ordinary, wine's replacement font is enough, but for this app, the only replacement found was the webding font, which include the symbols you see, I'll try to figure out how to bypass the problem; anyway, I'm glad my little app helped wink
ps : your english is quite good wink (I'm french so english is not my natural language either)
Logged
luc2
Forums Freshman
**
Posts: 12



« Reply #11 on: March 27, 2012, 03:02:03 AM »

Hi Slock,

You got it, I put the fonts I have in Window xp, in the font folder of Wine "et voila" the app load correctly now, thanks. 
Logged

Excuse my English, it's not my natural language.
slock
Alien
***
Posts: 25


« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2012, 02:20:42 PM »

well, I'm glad I helped, but as I said previously, for legal reason (and for size reason too) I can't put these fonts in my wrapper and upload it, but I'm still working on the new version, I think I'll release it rather soon
Logged
luc2
Forums Freshman
**
Posts: 12



« Reply #13 on: November 30, 2012, 06:04:39 PM »

Thank you very much for the new version "just a Glass".

The old version didn't work on one of my friend computer running lion, the new version now work.

This emulator is the most useful software I get in many years. Each time Parallels Desktop send a mail asking to buy an update I smile...   

Logged

Excuse my English, it's not my natural language.
vinniefracker
Forums Freshman
**
Posts: 13


« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2013, 08:45:31 PM »

I downloaded the "just a Glass" so what do I do with it javascript:void(0)? As you might have guessed I am completely new to this application and fractals.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
Just another fractal program ? Introduction to Fractals and Related Links David Makin 2 1171 Last post January 18, 2007, 11:36:28 PM
by David Makin
New Mac Fractal program for people to try Programming Duncan C 3 1230 Last post March 12, 2007, 07:16:21 PM
by Duncan C
Ferryman fractal program Others PoniTechnics 7 1820 Last post April 22, 2010, 07:29:07 AM
by Nahee_Enterprises
more Fractal images made with my program Images Showcase (Rate My Fractal) pgmatg 4 255 Last post September 21, 2012, 01:15:00 AM
by pgmatg
New Fractal Program/Screensaver Meet & Greet « 1 2 3 » Christian 33 1219 Last post January 09, 2014, 05:20:29 AM
by Christian

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.401 seconds with 30 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.016s, 2q)