Logo by kameelian - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Support us via Flattr FLATTR Link

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. April 20, 2024, 02:25:21 AM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: Nested Divergence, Rotation, Nabla  (Read 1095 times)
kram1032
Fractal Senior

« on: December 12, 2011, 10:07:14 PM »

Hi there. LOOONG time no see. smiley

Now that I started studying, I've learned a thing or two about multidimensional derivatives.
The case where you take a generic differentiable nested function's derivative is quite easy and was found by one of you guys quite a time ago.
Back then I unnecessarily started a thread of that topic, deriving the result myself.

It basically was, as the chain rule quickly shows, f'(x) f'(f(x)) f'(f(f(x))) f'(...

Now I wonder what happens if you take the complex numbers as vector.
E.g what's Nabla*(f(...,...)+i g(...,...))

By quickly trying it out I noticed that in case of quaternions, the real part of such an operation ends up looking a lot like divergence and the imaginary part appears to be the curl.
This I was able to verify. Wikipedia actually has that listed in the article about Quaternions.
However, in that case, the original quaternions where "pure", so they didn't have any real part.
(0,1/dx,1/dy,1/dz)(0,f(x,y,z),g(x,y,z),h(x,y,z))=div(f,g,h)+I curl(f,g,h)