Logo by Trifox - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Follow us on Twitter

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. April 24, 2024, 08:54:10 PM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: Recreating "the original"  (Read 2310 times)
sps
« on: October 18, 2010, 12:14:32 AM »

Hi,

First; I'm a newbie when it comes to fractals and have just started using Mandelbulber. Great program!!!!
The reason I found this and started using the program was I was reading at:
http://www.skytopia.com/project/fractal/mandelbulb.html
and found the picture:
http://www.skytopia.com/project/fractal/new/q85/Power8side-small.jpg

I have played with mandelbulder for a few hours and been reading the manual and doing my best to recreate the image above. I have failed and has now turned to this forum for help! wink

I'm using the "default.fract" as starting point and my two big challanges is two get the same amount of detail as in the picture and (most challanging) is to get the same colour and light effects as in the picture. Can someone give a hint? I have tried loading "colour_palette.jpg" but it seems hard to get (close to) the same colors. Also, lights and details seem not to be different (not as nice!).

BR
SPS
The Rev
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2010, 12:40:59 AM »

I haven't gotten into Mandelbulber yet, but detail in fractals is all about iterations, so you might try upping the max iterations and re-rendering, and see what you get.