Logo by Sockratease - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Did you know ? you can use LaTex inside Postings on fractalforums.com!

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. March 28, 2024, 08:04:08 PM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: Another Newbie here...  (Read 1591 times)
Dave
« on: September 11, 2010, 12:26:03 AM »

Hi All,

I'm pretty much a newbie when it comes to playing with fractals. I think they are fascinating and beautiful, and I have played with them a bit with FractInt (years ago), but I am more of a dabbler than a guru, unlike many of the posters whom I have read on this site.
I did read Chaos: Making a New Science by James Gelick a few years back but that is the limit of my mathematical knowledge on the subject.
One thing that I would like to do is to learn to create fractal landscapes and planets. It sounds like this might be an involved process using several programs in series, but I would welcome any input on what first baby steps to take down this path.

Thanks for a great forum!

Dave
Sockratease
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior

« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2010, 02:37:09 PM »

Hello and Welcome to the forums!

What do you mean by Fractal Landscapes?