END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Follow us on Twitter

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. April 19, 2024, 05:25:50 PM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: start picture  (Read 461 times)
Description: start with your own JPEG
Terry50
Forums Newbie

« on: March 18, 2017, 12:58:53 AM »

Hi,    A Beer Cup

I am very new to this.   
1)  Can you use your own imported picture to fracture?
2)  If I can't use my own picture,   how do I reduce the randomly automated picture down to bare bones material?

Thanks a lot,      thanks sign
Terry
Sockratease
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior

« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2017, 10:12:59 AM »

Hello and welcome to the forums   afro

I'm not sure I understand what you are asking here.

First, what software are you using?

Next, I'm not sure you understand what fractals are.  There is no "start picture" as such, it's an equation.

The classic Mandelbrot set is generated by iterating the equation Z = Z^2 + C and then varying the locations on the graph you find interesting.

There are various "transforms" and "mapping" tricks to get different looks and effects.

I think you want to do things like my old favorite use for Fractal Generators - specifically; taking pictures of the woman I love and mapping them to orbit traps and that sort of thing, getting results like this:

Or this:

Which can then be animated like this:

http://vid106.photobucket.com/albums/m278/sockratease/slices2.mp4