Logo by AGUS - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Visit the official fractalforums.com Youtube Channel

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. April 26, 2024, 05:55:39 PM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: About precision of doubles  (Read 565 times)
Description: Can't understand why zoom levels at low precision get "blocky"?
louwin
Forums Newbie

« on: November 21, 2016, 12:13:14 AM »

I'm a retired programmer (assemblers, COBOL and BASIC mainly). A total newbie in C++.

Rather than use one of the few excellent programs available I'd like to write my own  roll eyes

"double" variables SHOULD go to E308 so could someone please explain to me why I can only "zoom" to about 1.0E13 before it gets all "blocky"?

I even tried "long double" and that only went to about 2.0E18    cry

My research seems to suggest this is normal but I'd like to know why?

This is the code I'm using....

Code:
int MAXI, maxIterations;
long double zoom, moveX, moveY;
long double newRe, newIm, oldRe, oldIm;
long double pixelX, pixelY;

for (zoom = 1.0E16L; zoom <= 1.0E18L; zoom *= 1.5) {
for (int y = heightM; y >= 0; y--) {
pixelY = (y - halfheight) / (zoom * halfheight) + moveY;
for (int x = 0; x < width; x++) {
pixelX = /*whscale*/1.5 * (x - halfwidth) / (zoom * halfwidth) + moveX;
newReal = newImaginary = oldReal = oldImaginary = 0;
for (i = 0; i < maxIterations; i++) {
oldReal = newReal; oldImaginary = newImaginary;