Logo by HPDZ - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Check out the originating "3d Mandelbulb" thread here

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. April 25, 2024, 06:47:25 AM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: Graphics and fractal programmer here  (Read 4597 times)
Efoia
Forums Freshman

« on: August 24, 2016, 09:04:26 PM »

Hi everyone, I'm a C++ software engineer with a focus in computer graphics.  I've been developing my own 3D fractal software for about 2 years now called Oak Fractal Sandbox.  I've gotten really useful information from these forums over the years so thank you all smiley.  I currently don't have plans for a public release but I hope you all still find it interesting.  Hopefully I can at least be of some help to people attempting to write the same kind of software.

Here are a few renders:

Current features:

Appearance
    - lighting with multiple light sources and colors
    - shadows, soft and hard
    - ambient occlusion
    - fog
    - configurable colors
    - Hosek-Wilkie sky model
    - global illumination
    - image-based lighting
    - depth of field
    - geometric orbit traps
User interaction
    - realtime geometry manipulation
    - orbit camera and flight-sim camera controls, automatic distance-based camera speed adjustment
    - GUI which lets users modify geometry and appearance in realtime