Logo by Tglad - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Did you know ? you can use LaTex inside Postings on fractalforums.com!
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. March 29, 2024, 05:58:58 AM


Login with username, password and session length


The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!


Pages: 1 [2] 3 4   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: Fragmentarium 3DickUlus - Notes & Suggestions  (Read 7694 times)
Description: V1.0.6 3dickulus build
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
3dickulus
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1558



WWW
« Reply #15 on: July 25, 2015, 06:06:01 AM »

FIXED:
3) Really annoying, but I guess it is something coming from QT - when I want to type in an value into textfield next to slider it after each keystroke it parses the value and pads it automatically so it is not possible anymore to enter next digit. You have to select next digit manually, delete it and then type again.

in file VariableWidget.h

line 56                connect(spinner, SIGNAL(editingFinished()), this, SLOT(spinnerChanged()));
line 92            void spinnerChanged() {
line 172                connect(spinner, SIGNAL(editingFinished()), this, SLOT(spinnerChanged()));
line 183            void spinnerChanged() {

these lines are all that is needed to make ALL float/int input boxes trigger update only when <ENTER> is pressed or the widget looses focus cheesy will be in the next posting of source and exe files at digilanti.org/fragmentarium/ ... comming soon wink

@PK tnx for pushing the issue A Beer Cup

edit:ok it's a tad more complicated than that but I do have it working nice wink
« Last Edit: July 25, 2015, 07:33:36 AM by 3dickulus, Reason: working nice » Logged

Resistance is fertile...
You will be illuminated!

                            #B^] https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Fractals/fragmentarium
Patryk Kizny
Global Moderator
Fractal Fertilizer
******
Posts: 372



kizny
WWW
« Reply #16 on: July 25, 2015, 04:29:50 PM »

For example I wanted to animate int frame slider (since time wasn't reliable).
Another case - I needed a few params to tweak the matrix transformations on a vector. Just to dynamically multiply by -1/0/1. Ivec3 would be handy but did not work.
Logged

Visual Artist, Director & Cinematographer specialized in emerging imaging techniques.
3dickulus
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1558



WWW
« Reply #17 on: July 26, 2015, 04:09:01 AM »

When adding things to Fragmentarium source I try to consider "How does this help me explore fractals?" the weight of the answer determines how much the idea will dominate my tinkering with the code.
Logged

Resistance is fertile...
You will be illuminated!

                            #B^] https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Fractals/fragmentarium
Patryk Kizny
Global Moderator
Fractal Fertilizer
******
Posts: 372



kizny
WWW
« Reply #18 on: August 02, 2015, 07:36:56 PM »

I think there's a few bugs probably introduced when the spacebar toggle feature was added.

Step by step:

1. Start fragmentarium, defaults to progressive mode, select a preset.
--> At this step [stop] button won't stop the subframes increments

2. Switch to animation mode and apply an animated preset
--> [stop] button does not stop animation. You need to hit spacebar to stop toggle.
--> [play] button does not start animation either.
--> [<<] button wont rewind to first frame.
3. Switch back to progressive
Now it is not possible to have subframe buffer increment at all. Play button won't work.
Sometimes it works if you click on buffer image and drag
Logged

Visual Artist, Director & Cinematographer specialized in emerging imaging techniques.
3dickulus
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1558



WWW
« Reply #19 on: August 02, 2015, 08:36:10 PM »

check the date of the most recent package v1.0.9 on my website, yours must be pre Aug 01
has nothing to do with the spacebar play/stop toggle, this happened while getting some things straightened out with scripting and I forgot to put it back
Logged

Resistance is fertile...
You will be illuminated!

                            #B^] https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Fractals/fragmentarium
Patryk Kizny
Global Moderator
Fractal Fertilizer
******
Posts: 372



kizny
WWW
« Reply #20 on: August 02, 2015, 09:01:01 PM »

I must have missed the minor change. The latest build fixed that, thanks.

Another handy UI suggestion - doublclicking the slider's handle could reset UI widget to default.
Logged

Visual Artist, Director & Cinematographer specialized in emerging imaging techniques.
3dickulus
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1558



WWW
« Reply #21 on: August 02, 2015, 09:10:53 PM »

no
Logged

Resistance is fertile...
You will be illuminated!

                            #B^] https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Fractals/fragmentarium
Patryk Kizny
Global Moderator
Fractal Fertilizer
******
Posts: 372



kizny
WWW
« Reply #22 on: August 05, 2015, 09:50:03 PM »

I noticed Frag does not behave as expected regarding one aspect - properly interpreting #ifdefs.
It looks like it ignores them for clreaing UI widgets.

Say:
Code:
#ifdef USE_BACKGROUND
uniform bool BgUseMap; checkbox[false]
uniform bool BgExcludeFromPost; checkbox[false]
uniform bool BgMapEquirectangular; checkbox[false]
uniform sampler2D BgMap; file[Ditch-River_2k.hdr]
uniform vec3 BgMapScale; slider[(0,0,0),(1,1,1),(1,1,1)]
uniform vec3 BgMapOffset; slider[(0,0,0),(0,0,0),(1,1,1)]
#endif

Regardless of whether I use the #define USDE_BACKGROUND or not, it always adds the sliders on build.
Logged

Visual Artist, Director & Cinematographer specialized in emerging imaging techniques.
Syntopia
Fractal Molossus
**
Posts: 681



syntopiadk
WWW
« Reply #23 on: August 06, 2015, 12:29:26 AM »

The way I originally implemented the GLSL -> widget thing, was to scan the script for these special uniform lines. This scanning process does not respect #ifdef's. That is probably still the same.
Logged
3dickulus
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1558



WWW
« Reply #24 on: August 06, 2015, 04:48:25 AM »

yes, the magic of converting to shader program is not something I messed with.
Logged

Resistance is fertile...
You will be illuminated!

                            #B^] https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Fractals/fragmentarium
Patryk Kizny
Global Moderator
Fractal Fertilizer
******
Posts: 372



kizny
WWW
« Reply #25 on: August 06, 2015, 11:37:47 AM »

Ok, would be handy to add it if its not a problem.
As the code grows and one focuses on efficiency and optimization it looks like a good idea to use IFDEFS rather than if statements and it would be good if UI responded to it. In my version of the raytracer it's already pretty crowded there so hiding unused tabs would be of value.
Logged

Visual Artist, Director & Cinematographer specialized in emerging imaging techniques.
3dickulus
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1558



WWW
« Reply #26 on: August 06, 2015, 03:25:45 PM »

you could just comment them out  undecided
Logged

Resistance is fertile...
You will be illuminated!

                            #B^] https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Fractals/fragmentarium
Patryk Kizny
Global Moderator
Fractal Fertilizer
******
Posts: 372



kizny
WWW
« Reply #27 on: August 20, 2015, 02:56:03 AM »

Here's one more thought.
Currently I think it is not possible to add include paths to network drives.
I guess this is because Frag seems to be taking all strings as relative to Frag folder.
Would be nice if it was possible.

Please consider this (and all the stuff above) a suggestion for consideration, not a 'want it now' feature request.
Logged

Visual Artist, Director & Cinematographer specialized in emerging imaging techniques.
3dickulus
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1558



WWW
« Reply #28 on: August 20, 2015, 03:24:28 AM »

here I use full path and it seems to load files from anywhere but I don't have network drives,
for included files it searches first in the folder you loaded the frag from then looks for includes folder relative to the executable, if you can load a frag from network drive it should look there first for included files.

PS: you can set the default search path by selecting the menu item Edit->Preferences
« Last Edit: August 21, 2015, 07:29:46 AM by 3dickulus » Logged

Resistance is fertile...
You will be illuminated!

                            #B^] https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Fractals/fragmentarium
Patryk Kizny
Global Moderator
Fractal Fertilizer
******
Posts: 372



kizny
WWW
« Reply #29 on: August 24, 2015, 02:26:05 PM »

Quote
I have just updated the files on my website, all you need is the exe-only zip file, preserve your current exe's by renaming or moving before putting the new ones in their place just in case.
this update should run smoother on both nV and AMD, post a note in the threads if you have any problems or successes.

On NV this works, but I don't see a significant boost.
On the wicked machine with R9280 it works as expected.
What's weirdest is that now 1.09 and earlier versions work too! And I did not touch windows or drivers. Pretty weird.

However, I am not sure if it is this version on matter of moving to NV, the compiler sees to behave unpredictably, sometimes boasting 2 minutes compile time and sometimes falling out of memory errors. My frags have grown a bit, but not enormously and this is a 32GB Ram and 12GB VRam machine. And it's sort of random - same frag sometimes would compile in 500ms and sometimes it gets stuck.

Is there any way of troubleshooting that? i.e. some sort of insight into what tasks take that much time and what are the parts where the compiler gets stuck?

« Last Edit: August 24, 2015, 03:26:59 PM by Patryk Kizny » Logged

Visual Artist, Director & Cinematographer specialized in emerging imaging techniques.
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4   Go Down
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
FRGMENTARIUM 3DICKULUS - Catmull-Rom spline paths ! camera/parameter keyframes ! Fragmentarium « 1 2 ... 12 13 » 3dickulus 181 33163 Last post April 13, 2017, 02:48:57 AM
by 3dickulus
how to compile fragmentarium-3dickulus with debug symbols? Fragmentarium claude 4 2999 Last post December 25, 2015, 10:28:14 PM
by 3dickulus
Sky Island - Fragmentarium 3Dickulus Movies Showcase (Rate My Movie) ForestCat 5 1190 Last post February 06, 2016, 10:27:51 PM
by trumanbrown
2013 - 2016 3Dickulus Fragment Archives Parameter Files 3dickulus 0 3467 Last post December 17, 2016, 09:30:04 PM
by 3dickulus

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.155 seconds with 25 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.009s, 2q)