Logo by teamfresh - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Visit the official fractalforums.com Youtube Channel

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. April 25, 2024, 11:11:30 PM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: Popping by to say hello  (Read 633 times)
Description: An introduction to myself
DarthPJB
Forums Newbie

« on: April 05, 2015, 04:22:04 PM »

Hello everyone,

My name is John, I'm a C++/OpenGL programmer (with about 15 years experience), and I'm 27 years old (as of four days ago).
I've been interested in fractals since the day I learnt about them, and more importantly applied use of them.

I've seen a few of the Mandlebulb and Mandlecube videos, It's an amazing piece of mathematical exploration - not to mention the many other 3D and 2D fractals I've come across in the gallery.
My interest however, is two fold - I see a lot of the work done on this forum and related websites as being the "science" of fractal generation, I see myself more as an engineer.
I don't in any way mean the slightest disrespect of course, much of the stuff here is above my head (for the moment); what I mean is this.
A physicist might build a magnetron and analyse EM-waves to understand them, the mathematics behind them, to understand how Physics works.
An Engineer reads, understands, and reviews the work of the physicist, then builds a Microwave so everyone can have hot-dinners.