Logo by simon.snake - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Check out the originating "3d Mandelbulb" thread here

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. April 18, 2024, 04:00:37 AM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: Distorted surface in 3D fractals (holes)  (Read 3786 times)
Liopleurodon
Forums Newbie

« on: November 14, 2014, 08:36:07 PM »

I am new to 3D fractals but I like them very much. However, in many fractals there are surface distortions, which look like the image attached as an example. This one was rendered with Mandelbulber 1.21-1 using the Mandelbox vary scale 4D formula, but it occurs with Mandelbulb 3D as well (sometimes even without zoom). Do you know any reasonable solution for this problem?

* Problem Kopie.jpg (235.1 KB, 900x672 - viewed 363 times.)
cKleinhuis
Administrator
Fractal Senior

formerly known as 'Trifox'

« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2014, 08:40:11 PM »

adjust the steping multiplier, it is a classy problem of overstepping, i am unsure how it is called in mandelbulber

several params deal with the problem:

in mandelbulb3d they are in the calculation tab
DE STOP= minimum distance where to stop marching
RAYSTEP_MULTIPLIER =current step is multiplied by that value to avoid overstepping

good luck

---

divide and conquer - iterate and rule - chaos is No random!
Liopleurodon
Forums Newbie

« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2014, 07:36:32 AM »