Logo by Maya - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Follow us on Twitter

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. March 19, 2024, 05:30:01 AM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: Implementation: 3D mandelbrot type fractal  (Read 64397 times)
steamraven
« on: November 18, 2009, 07:36:00 PM »

Hey I am a fractal newbie, but I found the http://www.skytopia.com/project/fractal/mandelbulb.html and I love it!

As an exercise in programming (and possible stupidity) I would like to write my own renderer (in OpenCL).  I took a look at David Makin's Distance Estimator and I understand most of it except the test " if binary search count>=max binary depth".

It seems "binary search count" is only set to 0 or 1.  Does this get incremented elsewhere? Can I get some clarification?

I also am using for smooth iteration value the equation on http://linas.org/art-gallery/escape/escape.html

mu =  n + 1 - log (log  |Z(n)|) / log 2

where n is iteration at escape from radius and |Z(n)| is the last value.  (obviously for the power 8 I would use log 8 instead of log 2)

Is this right?

Thanks in advance
« Last Edit: November 20, 2009, 06:18:48 PM by steamraven, Reason: Add link to david\'s DE » Logged
cKleinhuis
Administrator
Fractal Senior

formerly known as 'Trifox'

« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2009, 09:14:27 PM »

the binary search is for finding the exact point where the solid or inner part of the object begins