Logo by Kaliyuga - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Check out the originating "3d Mandelbulb" thread here

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. April 19, 2024, 11:34:16 AM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: Performance for FPS-style mandelbox exploration  (Read 6407 times)
2DArray
Forums Newbie

« on: September 26, 2014, 10:59:24 AM »

Hey guys - I'm a game developer, and I'm pretty new to rendering 3D fractals, but I've been prototyping a game focused on them.  Basically, it gives you first-person-shooter-style controls and lets you walk around the interior and explore.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/MDDGOCzYk48&rel=1&fs=1&hd=1" target="_blank">https://www.youtube.com/v/MDDGOCzYk48&rel=1&fs=1&hd=1</a>

At the moment, Mandelbox is the only supported shape, but I'm interested in adding more later on.  It'll take some more study to produce other surfaces that work well with the gameplay, though...

Anyway, the real point of my post is that I'm trying to make my raymarch shader run faster.  I'm developing this on a pretty modest laptop, but right now it's only pushing 6 fractal iterations and 40 raymarch steps...and I feel like it could do better.  Luckily, because of the way the game works, it doesn't need to support any crazy huge zooms, so I'd be happy to leave the box iterations pretty low, but I really want to increase that draw distance without requiring that people have crazy machines.