Logo by Fractal Ken - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Visit the official fractalforums.com Youtube Channel

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. April 23, 2024, 09:56:34 PM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: Problem with Mandelbrot Distance Estimator  (Read 9292 times)
Levi
Alien

« on: December 23, 2013, 06:11:10 PM »

Hi all,

So this is my first time implementing a distance estimator and I have an issue. In the image below, my color scheme is 'mod(dist, 1.0)' where dist is the result of the distance estimator, so each ring should be 1.0 farther than the previous ring. But instead the rings actually become progressively smaller as you get farther from the center, indicating that my distance estimator is not returning a consistent estimate. Increasing the escape radius and iteration count does not fix this. Is this a bug in my implementation, or does the distance estimate normally have this problem?

GLSL code:
Code:
uniform int Iteration;
uniform float Radius;

varying vec2 Pos;

void main ()  
{
    int i;
    float x, y, x0, y0, x_temp;
    float dx, dy, dx_temp;
    float r, dr, dist;
    float escape;

//Initialize iteration variables
    escape = Radius*Radius;
    x0 = Pos.x; y0 = Pos.y;
    x = 0.0; y = 0.0;
    dx = 1.0; dy = 0.0;

//Run iterations
    for (i = 0; i < Iteration; i++)
    {
        //Update z'
        dx_temp = 2.0*(x*dx - y*dy) + 1.0;
        dy = 2.0*(x*dy + y*dx);