Logo by kr0mat1k - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Support us via Flattr FLATTR Link

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. March 28, 2024, 11:16:07 AM

Login with username, password and session length

The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: questions: how to colour, performance and zoo  (Read 1683 times)
willvarfar
Explorer

« on: August 09, 2012, 04:27:57 PM »

I'm a fractal newbie and the Ludum Dare competition is fast approaching so I need to learn quickly wink

I've been doing ray marching and talking in the programming board, but I have some more general questions about 3D fractals:

1) Colouring: I've loved Syntopia's DE series; is there an equiv cheat sheet for colouing fractals?  How is it normally done?

2) Performance: which fractals (with typical iterations and bailouts etc) are the quickest to render?

3) Zoo: is there any nice summaries with lots of common 3D fractals thumbailed near and far?  So I can glance over and say "oooh that'd look good in this part of that game..."?
bib
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior

At the borders...

100008697663777 @bib993
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2012, 05:01:17 PM »

3) Zoo: is there any nice summaries with lots of common 3D fractals thumbailed near and far?  So I can glance over and say "oooh that'd look good in this part of that game..."?

On point 3) check this out for instance:

http://www.fractalforums.com/images-showcase-(rate-my-fractal)/familiar-fractals-in-the-mandelbox