Logo by AGUS - Contribute your own Logo!

END OF AN ERA, FRACTALFORUMS.COM IS CONTINUED ON FRACTALFORUMS.ORG

it was a great time but no longer maintainable by c.Kleinhuis contact him for any data retrieval,
thanks and see you perhaps in 10 years again

this forum will stay online for reference
News: Follow us on Twitter
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. April 20, 2024, 03:38:05 AM


Login with username, password and session length


The All New FractalForums is now in Public Beta Testing! Visit FractalForums.org and check it out!


Pages: 1 [2] 3 4   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: Fragmentarium 1.0 Beta 1  (Read 10570 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
knighty
Fractal Iambus
***
Posts: 819


« Reply #15 on: August 02, 2013, 10:58:30 PM »

OK - I'll look into that. I actually ignore some update signals which is probably a bad idea. It works on my machine however - no flickering, and no tearing. My guess is that Windows 7 does some extra buffering / composition before rendering. What Windows version are you using? Have you disabled Aero? When I disable aero I get the failed redraws, but no flicker, though.
I'm still using XP.  embarrass
It also looks like the redering is recomputed for each mouse event (when changing view location). This gives it an inertia which is more noticeable with slow shaders.
Logged
3dickulus
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1558



WWW
« Reply #16 on: August 03, 2013, 02:04:15 AM »

compiling...

line 49 in DisplayWidget.h causes error...
Code:
            boolean isContinuous() { return continuous; }
it should be ?
Code:
            bool isContinuous() { return continuous; }

line 246 in MainWindow.cpp the primitives = QRegExp has an entry "greaterThanqual" should this be "greaterThanEqual" ?

Code:
ThirdPartyCode/hdrloader.cpp: In static member function ‘static bool HDRLoader::load(const char*, HDRLoaderResult&)’:
ThirdPartyCode/hdrloader.cpp:70:43: warning: format ‘%ld’ expects argument of type ‘long int*’, but argument 3 has type ‘int*’ [-Wformat]
ThirdPartyCode/hdrloader.cpp:70:43: warning: format ‘%ld’ expects argument of type ‘long int*’, but argument 4 has type ‘int*’ [-Wformat]
might cause issues with HDR stuff on some systems?

no effect on CPU usage when enabling QGL doublebuffering for this version of linux
« Last Edit: August 03, 2013, 07:44:19 AM by 3dickulus, Reason: upD8 » Logged

Resistance is fertile...
You will be illuminated!

                            #B^] https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Fractals/fragmentarium
Syntopia
Fractal Molossus
**
Posts: 681



syntopiadk
WWW
« Reply #17 on: August 03, 2013, 05:26:15 PM »

compiling...

line 49 in DisplayWidget.h causes error...
Code:
            boolean isContinuous() { return continuous; }
it should be ?
Code:
            bool isContinuous() { return continuous; }

line 246 in MainWindow.cpp the primitives = QRegExp has an entry "greaterThanqual" should this be "greaterThanEqual" ?

Code:
ThirdPartyCode/hdrloader.cpp: In static member function ‘static bool HDRLoader::load(const char*, HDRLoaderResult&)’:
ThirdPartyCode/hdrloader.cpp:70:43: warning: format ‘%ld’ expects argument of type ‘long int*’, but argument 3 has type ‘int*’ [-Wformat]
ThirdPartyCode/hdrloader.cpp:70:43: warning: format ‘%ld’ expects argument of type ‘long int*’, but argument 4 has type ‘int*’ [-Wformat]
might cause issues with HDR stuff on some systems?

no effect on CPU usage when enabling QGL doublebuffering for this version of linux


Thanks, 3dickulus - I've updated the code.
Logged
Syntopia
Fractal Molossus
**
Posts: 681



syntopiadk
WWW
« Reply #18 on: August 03, 2013, 05:28:48 PM »

I opened a frag file that uses a HDR image as a background, and the image is not showing up.
(I did transfer the image to the Inc directory under Examples. Fragmentarium is not complaining that it cannot find it)

Then I loaded another image, which did show up. Switched back to the image I wanted and it did show up also, but as I start an animation, it loses the image again.

I think I got this fixed now - could you try downloading this new build:
[Use link in first post in this thread]
« Last Edit: August 03, 2013, 10:35:22 PM by Syntopia » Logged
JosLeys
Strange Attractor
***
Posts: 258


WWW
« Reply #19 on: August 03, 2013, 05:49:03 PM »

Yes, it works.
Just one thing, when opening the frag file I had to manually reload the hdr image before it became visible.
After that everything works fine.
Thanks!
Logged
Roquen
Iterator
*
Posts: 180


« Reply #20 on: August 03, 2013, 09:04:42 PM »

DepthBufferShader.frag:230 & ZBufferShader.frag:187

 Vec3 -> vec3
Logged

All code submitted by me is in the public domain. (http://unlicense.org/)
Syntopia
Fractal Molossus
**
Posts: 681



syntopiadk
WWW
« Reply #21 on: August 03, 2013, 10:38:26 PM »

DepthBufferShader.frag:230 & ZBufferShader.frag:187

 Vec3 -> vec3

Thanks Roquen, it has been fixed.

I should probably mention that earlier versions of Fragmentarium supported writing built-in types with upper-case, e.g. Float, Vec3, Mat3 and so on. These upper-case types would be converted to either single (float, vec3, ...) or double (double, dvec3, ...) depending on a preferences setting. But I have now removed this functionality, since it raised a lot of other problems.
Logged
3dickulus
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1558



WWW
« Reply #22 on: August 04, 2013, 04:13:25 AM »

a couple of other warnings at compile time, compiles and runs here but may be an issue for other OSs...
Code:
Fragmentarium/GUI/MainWindow.cpp: In member function ‘void Fragmentarium::GUI::MainWindow::clearTextures()’:
Fragmentarium/GUI/MainWindow.cpp:470:44: warning: converting ‘false’ to pointer type for argument 1 of ‘void Fragmentarium::GUI::DisplayWidget::clearTextureCache(QMap<QString, bool>*)’ [-Wconversion-null]
need a pointer that points to a value of false?
Code:
Fragmentarium/GUI/VariableWidget.h: In constructor ‘Fragmentarium::GUI::SamplerWidget::SamplerWidget(Fragmentarium::GUI::FileManager*, QWidget*, QWidget*, QString, QString)’:
Fragmentarium/GUI/VariableWidget.h:288:26: warning: ‘Fragmentarium::GUI::SamplerWidget::fileManager’ will be initialized after [-Wreorder]
Fragmentarium/GUI/VariableWidget.cpp:570:112: warning:   base ‘Fragmentarium::GUI::VariableWidget’ [-Wreorder]
Fragmentarium/GUI/VariableWidget.cpp:569:9: warning:   when initialized here [-Wreorder]
not sure about this one, never ran into it in other proggies but perhaps worth a mention.

do these show up when compiling with Windows?
Logged

Resistance is fertile...
You will be illuminated!

                            #B^] https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Fractals/fragmentarium
3dickulus
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1558



WWW
« Reply #23 on: August 05, 2013, 09:07:14 AM »

Syntopia, in the source file MainWindow.cpp at line 1110 you ask the question "Isn't there a Qt function to copy entire images?"

yes there is, change the XY pixel loop from this ...

Code:
                        for (int i = 0; i < maxTiles*maxTiles; i++) {
                            int dx = (i / maxTiles);
                            int dy = (maxTiles-1)-(i % maxTiles);
                            for (int x = 0; x < w; x++) {
                                for (int y = 0; y < h; y++) {
                                    QRgb p = cachedTileImages[i].pixel(x,y);
                                    finalImage.setPixel(x+w*dx,y+h*dy,p);
                                }
                            }
                        }
to this...
Code:
	               QPainter painter(&finalImage);
                        for (int i = 0; i < maxTiles*maxTiles; i++) {
                            int dx = (i / maxTiles);
                            int dy = (maxTiles-1)-(i % maxTiles);
   int xoff = dx*w; int yoff = dy*h;
   QRect target(xoff, yoff, w, h);
   QRect source(0, 0, w, h);
   painter.drawImage(target, cachedTileImages[i], source);
                        }

QImage is a QPainterDevice  afro
« Last Edit: August 05, 2013, 09:20:33 AM by 3dickulus, Reason: QPainter outside of the loop » Logged

Resistance is fertile...
You will be illuminated!

                            #B^] https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Fractals/fragmentarium
Syntopia
Fractal Molossus
**
Posts: 681



syntopiadk
WWW
« Reply #24 on: August 06, 2013, 08:35:21 PM »

Syntopia, in the source file MainWindow.cpp at line 1110 you ask the question "Isn't there a Qt function to copy entire images?"

yes there is, change the XY pixel loop from this ...

Thanks, 3dickulus - I really did not expect any answers to this :-) Works fine!
Logged
Syntopia
Fractal Molossus
**
Posts: 681



syntopiadk
WWW
« Reply #25 on: August 06, 2013, 09:20:10 PM »


do these show up when compiling with Windows?

No, but they should be fixed now. On Windows the only (harmless) warnings are in HDRLoader.cpp, which I did not write myself.
Logged
3dickulus
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1558



WWW
« Reply #26 on: August 07, 2013, 12:25:08 AM »

I've noticed that animating the "Up" vector has some issues, when any one component transitions 0.0 or reaches +/-1.0 the rendering goes sideways...
by that I mean it doesn't render any more at all. the GL area goes blank and nothing short of a restart will fix it, I tracked the problem down to variablewidget.cpp where Float3Widget values get normalized if they are -1 to 1, when one of them reaches 1.0 the other two snap to 0.0 causing a divide-by 0 error somewhere?, I haven't tracked it any farther than this, my fix is not to "normalize" the "Up" vector and everything seems to work smoothly.

so a question: if the max and min values of the sliders are 1 -1 is that not, in effect, already normalized?

edit: I know it's not a "unit sphere" but will a unit cube do?
« Last Edit: August 07, 2013, 01:36:43 AM by 3dickulus, Reason: clarification » Logged

Resistance is fertile...
You will be illuminated!

                            #B^] https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Fractals/fragmentarium
Roquen
Iterator
*
Posts: 180


« Reply #27 on: August 07, 2013, 01:21:45 PM »

Without looking at the source I'd guess that this is a look-at formulation which is degenerate for straight-up and straight down (speaking roughly here).  I'll take this opportunity to repeat that it would be nice to additionally have a roller-ball like interface.
Logged

All code submitted by me is in the public domain. (http://unlicense.org/)
3dickulus
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1558



WWW
« Reply #28 on: August 09, 2013, 08:04:52 AM »

nope, it's the up vector, lookat is tracking target spline path perfectly
Logged

Resistance is fertile...
You will be illuminated!

                            #B^] https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Fractals/fragmentarium
Roquen
Iterator
*
Posts: 180


« Reply #29 on: August 09, 2013, 08:21:24 AM »

I'm lazy...can you point me to the code in question?

EDIT: I was talking about a lookat matrix like formulation...creating an orthogonal basis via cross products.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2013, 08:34:11 AM by Roquen » Logged

All code submitted by me is in the public domain. (http://unlicense.org/)
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4   Go Down
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
Mutatorkammer Beta Release General Discussion cKleinhuis 4 6698 Last post February 08, 2007, 09:46:53 PM
by Nahee_Enterprises
Beta Light Ultrafractal abbaszargar 1 1117 Last post October 24, 2013, 07:06:39 AM
by Nahee_Enterprises
Mandelbulb3D 1.9.0 OPEN BETA beta testing « 1 2 3 » thargor6 43 10639 Last post January 06, 2016, 09:12:20 AM
by Teena
D3CRYPT3D 3D Encryption Software Beta Commercial Corner « 1 2 » D3CRYPT3D 27 19009 Last post March 30, 2017, 12:18:01 AM
by D3CRYPT3D
Fragmentarium 2.0 beta Announcements & News 3dickulus 7 3047 Last post October 21, 2017, 05:15:25 PM
by 3dickulus

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.149 seconds with 29 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.011s, 2q)