News: Support the forums via Fractalforums.com Online Store
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. November 27, 2014, 07:35:28 AM


Login with username, password and session length



Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Share this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on Twitter
Author Topic: DE stop = NAN ??  (Read 2040 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
PhotoComix
Strange Attractor
***
Posts: 276


« on: May 02, 2012, 10:03:20 PM »

when passing parameters from the 3D nav to the main program often the DE stop are modified without a apparent reason, for "modified" i intended dramatically multiplied many times (i.e, from 2.5 to 327 )
 going up
But the what surprised me more is that sometimes the numeric value disappear, replaced by "NAN"

what means "NAN" ?

For what i saw has a devastating effect on rendering time, after pressing "Calculate 3D" i saw the time counter going up to more the 4h (previous render with same formula and size was 35m )

At soon i noticed i stopped the calculation, inserted manually a DE stop value, and the render went well and tooks less then 20 minutes.

Another issue i saw with the NAV is that sometimes when moving the "far plane" distance...changes by itself without apparent reason and should be manually reset

The program is great i really love it so those are not critiques just i am curious to know if there is a reason for this weird changes, what "NAN" means, and if are know issues and if there is a way to prevent them (the only i found is take care to check
for weird and unplanned changes in the "far plane" and DE stop" value, and in case correct them manually )
Logged
Madman
Fractal Bachius
*
Posts: 583



« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2012, 10:30:17 PM »

That's funny. I don't think M3D should do that ( it doesn't with me anyway). DE stop is not a value that changes within the navigator. NAN means "Not a Number". It's probably caused by too high a value of the DE stop. There are changes with the far plane value when you post parameters back and forth between the rendering window and the navigator, but while navigating in the navigator it shouldn't change
Logged

All I want is a warm bed, a kind word and unlimited power (Ashleigh Brilliant)
PhotoComix
Strange Attractor
***
Posts: 276


« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2012, 10:38:33 PM »

In both cases it does!

well not always but often, i would not know how to replicate because i have no idea of what may be the cause , but happened to me already 3 times today

PS i noticed only now that this topic (as i suppose the previous we replied) is misplaced:
it was intended to be in the Mandelbulb3d board because are question specific for M3D

...maybe some mod may fix ?  
« Last Edit: May 02, 2012, 11:04:27 PM by PhotoComix » Logged
Sockratease
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 2285



« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2012, 10:42:16 PM »

...PS i noticed only now that this topic (as i suppose the previous we reply) is misplaced:
it was intended to be in the Mandelbulb3d board because are question specific for M3D

...maybe some mod may fix ? 


 Elvis Presley
Logged

Life is complex - It has real and imaginary components.
DarkBeam
Global Moderator
Fractal Senior
******
Posts: 1666


The spaghetti formula coder


« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2012, 05:38:02 PM »

NAN = Not a number. Jesse forgot some additional checks. Did you Jessie? wink
Logged

Formulas are never too much (?)

lenord
Fractal Bachius
*
Posts: 596


No Matter where you go there you are


« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2012, 09:42:16 PM »

Never seen NAN appear in the DE Stop before, not sure about that one. The Far Plane will change though, especially with any major change of Sliding or Looking settings, always figured it was due to Canera angle, not a big thing to me I'm always moving far plane in and out anyway.
Logged
lxh
Iterator
*
Posts: 177


« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2012, 12:03:00 AM »

DE stop is scaling proportional to the render resolution if the "DE stop + C" checkbox is on.

For example: If you press "Parameter" in the navigator window, double the resolution in the main window and press the "view to main" navi-button afterwards you will get a wrong DE stop value. And if you scale up and down and swap parameters, it behaves exponentially and can give you DE stop values from hundreds till N(ot)A N(umber). This might be the same with far plane values .. didn't test it.

Just press the "Parameter" button in the navigator each time you change the resolution or DE.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2012, 12:06:30 AM by lxh » Logged

I've learned so much by my mistakes that I'm planing to do some more.
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
No Way To Stop Wildstyle CO99A5 0 116 Last post May 20, 2012, 04:10:35 PM
by CO99A5
DE stop - Raystep multiplier - Stepwidth limiter Mandelbulb 3d CeleXaoS 3 634 Last post June 12, 2012, 10:04:21 AM
by CeleXaoS
Stop, Save and Resume feature request luc2 0 138 Last post May 21, 2013, 08:00:12 PM
by luc2
zoom in, in ,in ...... STOP! Mandelbulb 3d fractales75 4 531 Last post November 09, 2013, 11:54:43 AM
by hgjf2
Omega - A Stop Motion Animated Short Non-Fractal related Chit-Chat leocesar 2 295 Last post May 09, 2014, 06:48:45 PM
by leocesar

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM
Page created in 0.2 seconds with 30 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.021s, 2q)